Undeclared Peanuts in Sugarfina Milk Chocolate Malt Balls

Recall Alert
Sugerfina Milk Chocolate Malt balls (Source: FDA)

Sugarfina is recalling over 740 units of its Sugerfina Milk Chocolate Malt balls because they might contain undeclared peanuts.

FDA, peanuts, Sugarfina Milk Chocolate Malt Balls

Sugerfina Milk Chocolate Malt balls (Source: FDA)

The balls, packaged in acrylic cubes, were distributed throughout the U.S. (in retail stores and online) between February 18, 2016 and April 9, 2016. Consumers are advised to look for the following UPC Codes on the back of the label:

Advertisement
  • 840278113565
  • SKU K1159

According to the FDA, the voluntary recall occurred after it was found that some peanut butter malt balls were mixed in with the Sugarfina Milk Chocolate Malt Balls.

Consumers with allergies who have purchased the milk chocolate balls are advised to either throw out the product or return it.

No illnesses have been reported to date, but consumers may contact the company with any questions or concerns. Contact: 1 -855-784-2734 from 8AM PST (11 AM EST) to 5PM PST (8PM EST) Monday-Friday.

Peanuts, Food Allergies and Your Safety

For people who are sensitive to specific foods—allergies can occur within hours or even a few minutes. Peanuts are just one of the main causes of food allergies, other major allergenic foods include: eggs, milk, fish (i.e. cod, bass, flounder), shellfish (i.e. lobster, crab, shrimp), wheat, soybeans and tree nuts (i.e. walnuts, almonds, pecans) .

Advertisement

According to the FSIS, it is estimated that food allergies affect about eight percent of adults in the U.S. and between four and eight percent of kids. Anaphylaxis from food results in approximately 30,000 ER visits, 2,000 hospitalizations, and 150 deaths. Allergy symptoms generally include the following:

• Hives, rashes or flushed skin
• Itchy sensation in the mouth
• Swelling of the face, tongue, or lip
• Vomiting, cramps, and/or diarrhea
• Wheezing and/or coughing; Trouble breathing
• Dizziness
• Swelling of the throat
• Fainting/Loss of consciousness

The FDA requires that all ingredients in food products be listed on the food label.


Sources:

“Sugarfina Issues Allergy Alert on Undeclared Peanuts in Milk Chocolate Malt Balls,” FDA web site, April 14, 2016; http://www.fda.gov/Safety/Recalls/ucm496259.htm, last accessed April 15, 2016.

http://www.fsis.usda.gov/wps/wcm/connect/1e98f24c-d616-443f-8490-f7372476d558/Allergies_and_Food_Safety.pdf?MOD=AJPERES